Oh Spinzilla week, I had great plans for you.

In my head, I was going to sit down every free hour of every day this week and spin, spin, spin. I was going to spin like my life depended on it.

What’s that famous quote about the best laid plans of mice and men? I’m here to tell you that you can apply it to roving and women as well!

That’s not to say I haven’t spun at all. Because I have. Just not as much as I wanted to.

single ply alpaca roving
single ply alpaca roving

I have about 200 yards of brown and black alpaca spun. And really, it was like spinning butta! Smooth and soft. It’s  beautiful and I’m enjoying every minute of it — what few minutes there are!

black and brown alpaca roving
black and brown alpaca roving

This is roving from the farm’s own alpacas. I plan to go out to the barn tomorrow and thank each and every one of them. They grew very nice fiber and I think someone should thank them!

alpacas

Thank you!

Tomorrow, I start on this fiber.

Colorful roving
Colorful roving

This vibrant fiber is a mix of merino wool, silk, bamboo and alpaca. All hand dyed. All stunning on its own. I can’t wait to see how it will look spun into a mixed yarn.

My wheel is ready.

Louet Spinning Wheel
Louet Spinning Wheel

She was starting to squeak a bit (an overuse injury?), but I got her all oiled up and she will be ready for business.

The yarn she makes will be available at the Cleveland Flea this Saturday if you’re in the market for some handspun deliciousness.

