Let me say, right out of the shoot, that I am pro-gluten. Given a choice, I would consume it by the ton. Pizza. French bread. Toll House cookies. Pie. Stuffing. Red Velvet cake. And that glorious thing of beauty, the well designed hamburger bun.

The problem is gluten is not pro me. We are not the friends I thought we were. Gluten was cruel to me, so a few years ago, we had to part ways. It was not an easy break up, but for the most part, it has been amicable. Oh sure, there are days when I miss my old friend so much that I need to pay a brief visit. But I soon realized that we can never really be together again. I had to find move on. I had to find new friends.

Thanksgiving, however, is a full gluten event. From the gravy, thickened with flour, to the numerous pies and cakes, gluten plays a major role at the Thanksgiving table.

Thanks to the wonderful world of Pinterest, I have found many gluten-free options for Thanksgiving desserts. And since we happen to have a few dozen hives of bees producing the best honey around, I looked for gluten-free desserts staring honey.

Brighton+Wool+Bottled+Honey

This is my favorite: Healthy Pumpkin Pie.. It is sugar free, dairy free and gluten free. With that much “free”, you’d think it would also be free of taste. But I’m here to tell you otherwise. It is delicious. How could it not be when it’s filled with pecans, almond milk, pumpkin and honey.

Or how about Baked Pears with Walnuts and Honey..Pears, honey, cinnamon, walnuts. That’s it. Four ingredients that will have you wondering what the heck gluten even is.

Prefer your dessert in more of a candy form? Give this Pecan Pie Brittle a try.

I bet if you put these desserts on the table, not a single soul will ask you where the gluten is.

If you’re a Pinterest fan like I am, be sure to follow Brighton Wool & Honey Co. for lots of great ideas on cooking with honey, knitting, gardening and general farm life.

Rake+scarecrow

